It’s been a while since I blogged and it feels good to be back to it. We have been so busy lately and we are about to get even busier. Kevin, the kids and I had Kevin’s parents over for dinner. I made artichokes for the first time ever and a cheesy chicken and rice to go with it.
So lets get started with the artichokes. My mom always made artichokes when I was kid and while I always remember her steaming it in a way I never paid close attention to the way she did it. I found a great way to do it in the crockpot and it turned out fabulous.

Ingredients:

Artichokes ( I made 2 but u can make as many as u want that will fit in the Crocker)
White wine
Lemon juice
Salt
Minced garlic
Water

20130701-100009.jpg

First take your artichokes and cut off the stem, then cut off about an inch off the front so you can expose the top of the heart.

20130701-100742.jpg

Stand the artichokes up in your slow cooker.

20130701-101151.jpg

Squeeze your lemon juice over the top of the artichokes.

20130701-101437.jpg

Now drizzle olive oil over the top of the artichokes.

20130701-101626.jpg

Now add your salt and minced garlic to the top of your artichokes. Then take your white wine and pour in about two cups into the bottom of the crockpot and then add water until there is a about an inch of liquid at the base of the crockpot. Then turn your crockpot on high for 3-4 hours and Voila! Yummy artichokes.

20130701-101931.jpg

I mixed up butter and minced garlic
To dip the artichokes in and it was sooooo good.

So now onto the cheesy chicken and rice.

Ingredients:
3 chicken breasts
Onion
Cream of chicken soup
Can Of corn
Bag of cheddar cheese
White rice ( i bought a box of uncle bens steam in bag rice and used two of the bags. )

20130701-102453.jpg

I used to cut up my chicken before cooking it in the crockpot but I learned its so much easier to shred chicken after its cooked so I didn’t cut it this time. I placed all three chicken breasts at the bottom of the crockpot, then I cut up one onion and placed it over the top of the chicken. Then I took my can of cream of chicken soup and spooned it over the top of the onions. Then I set my slow cooker to high for 3 hours and let it cook away.

Right before my slow cooker was finished I cooked the rice. After the rice was cooked I took two forks and shredded the chicken ( i had help from my mother in law with this too. Thank you susan) then I added the rice to the crockpot. Then I drained the juice out of the can of corn and added it as well. Then I took my bag of shredded cheese and added it to the mix as well. With out mixing it all together I let it cook together for 15 min just to let the cheese melt and get the corn warm. After the 15 min I mixed it all together and dished it out.

20130701-103246.jpg

The whole family loved the dinner and I hope your family loves it too.

